© 2024 Ideastream Public Media

1375 Euclid Avenue, Cleveland, Ohio 44115
(216) 916-6100 | (877) 399-3307

WKSU is a public media service licensed to Kent State University and operated by Ideastream Public Media.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Great Lakes Today was created to highlight issues affecting the lakes. The main partners are WBFO (Buffalo), ideastream (Cleveland) and WXXI (Rochester).Browse more coverage here. Major funding for Great Lakes Today is provided by the Corporation for Public Broadcasting, a private corporation funded by the American People. Additional funding comes from the Northeast Ohio Regional Sewer District.

Trump Nominates Three IJC Commissioners

An International Joint Commission meeting in Buffalo, NY in March 2017 [EILEEN KOTERAS ELIBOL / WBFO NEWS]
Crowd facing a group of panelists at a public meeting [EILEEN KOTERAS ELIBOL / WBFO NEWS]

There may soon be some new faces at the helm of the International Joint Commission, which helps protect and regulate the Great Lakes. The White House has announced the names of the three new commissioners for the IJC.

Former New York Assemblywoman Jane Corwin will be designated chair.  The Tonawanda native retired from the state assembly in 2016.

The other nominees are Robert Sisson of Michigan and Lance Yohe of North Dakota. Sisson is the president of  ConservAmerica, a self-described "non-partisan" environmental group.

Yohe is the former executive director of the  Red River Basin Commission, a water advocacy group based in North Dakota.

The nominations are subject to Senate approval.

The IJC has six commissioners, three from the U.S. and three from Canada. They advise both federal governments on environmental issues, and control some dams along the international border.