© 2024 Ideastream Public Media

1375 Euclid Avenue, Cleveland, Ohio 44115
(216) 916-6100 | (877) 399-3307

WKSU is a public media service licensed to Kent State University and operated by Ideastream Public Media.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

The Cleveland Orchestra: A Century of Excellence

Franz Welser-Möst conducts.
Roger Mastroianni
The Cleveland Orchestra
Franz Welser-Möst conducts.

WCLV ideastream is pleased to make a series available that was originally distributed exclusively to EBU members in 2018. This 13-part series celebrates The Cleveland Orchestra’s 2018 centennial milestone and features the work of five significant conductors in the Orchestra’s history; George Szell, Music Director 1946 – 1970; Pierre Boulez, Music Advisor 1970 – 1972; Lorin Maazel, Music Director 1972 – 1982; Christoph von Dohnányi, Music Director 1984 – 2000, Franz Welser-Möst, Music Director 2000 to the present. Concerts led by Franz Welser-Möst are showcased in nine episodes, with each of the other named conductors featured once. In addition to the concert material, each program includes a brief segment on an event, milestone, or important initiative undertaken by The Cleveland Orchestra. Robert Conrad hosts, with Bill O’Connell providing supportive commentary.

Program Length – 1:58:30Exception:  2106 – 2:28:30

CORN 2101 - FTP upload: 03/23/21  Release date: 03/28/21
Concert Date: 4/20/2013
Franz Welser-Möst, conductor
Frank Peter Zimmermann, violin

SHEPHERD: Tuolumne
SHOSTAKOVICH: Violin Concerto No. 1 in a, Op. 77/99
DVOŘÁK: Symphony No. 6 in D, Op. 60

CORN 2102 - FTP upload: 03/30/21  Release date: 04/04/21
Concert Date: 11/10/2012
Franz Welser-Möst, conductor
Michael Sachs, trumpet
Jack Sutte, trumpet

BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 4 in Bb, Op. 60
PINTSCHER: Chute d’Étoiles
BEETHOVEN: Grosse Fuge in Bb, Op. 133
SCRIABIN: The Poem of Ecstasy

CORN 2103 - FTP upload: 04/06/21  Release date: 04/11/21
Concert Date: 6/24/1965 - AMSTERDAM CONCERTGEBOUW
George Szell, conductor
John Browning, piano

WAGNER: Die Meistersinger: Act 1 Prelude
BARBER: Piano Concerto
SCHUBERT: Symphony No. 9 in C, “Great”

CORN 2104 - FTP upload: 04/13/21  Release date: 04/18/21
Concert Date: 11/17/2012 - ADRIENNE ARSHT CENTER, MIAMI
Franz Welser-Möst, conductor
Bernarda Fink, mezzo-soprano
University of Miami Frost Symphonic Women’s Chorus
Miami Children’s Chorus

MAHLER: Symphony No. 3 in d

CORN 2105 - FTP upload: 04/20/21  Release date: 04/25/21
Concert Date: 1/8/2011
Christoph von Dohnányi, conductor
Richard King, horn

WIDMANN: Con brio
MOZART: Horn Concerto No. 2 in Eb, K. 417
TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 6 in b, Op.74, “Pathetique”

CORN 2106 - FTP upload: 04/27/21  Release date: 05/02/21
Concert Date: 4/27/2013
Franz Welser-Möst, conductor
Malin Hartelius, soprano
Maximilian Schmitt, tenor
Luca Pisaroni, bass-baritone
Cleveland Orchestra Chorus

HAYDN: The Seasons

CORN 2107 - FTP upload: 05/04/21  Release date: 05/09/21
Concert Date: 1/11/2014
Franz Welser-Möst, conductor
Julia Fischer, violin

BRAHMS: Tragic Overture, Op. 81
BRAHMS: Violin Concerto in D, Op. 77
BRAHMS: Symphony No. 2 in D, Op. 73

CORN 2108 - FTP upload: 05/11/21  Release date: 05/16/21
Concert Date: 2/5/81
Lorin Maazel, conductor
Women of the Cleveland Orchestra Chorus

BACH: Passacaglia and Fugue in c, BWV 582 – Arr Goedicke
LOEFFLER: Evocation (commissioned for the opening of Severance Hall)
BRAHMS: Symphony No. 1 in c, Op. 68

CORN 2109 - FTP upload: 05/18/21  Release date: 05/23/21
Concert Date: 7/13/2013 - BLOSSOM MUSIC CENTER
Franz Welser-Möst, conductor
Christine Brewer, soprano
Alan Held, bass

WAGNER: Tristan und Isolde: Prelude and Liebestod
WAGNER: Die Walküre: Wotan's Farewell and Magic Fire Music
WAGNER: Götterdämmerung: Excerpts

CORN 2110 - FTP upload: 05/25/21  Release date: 05/30/21
Franz Welser-Möst, conductor
Gil Shaham, violin

SCHUBERT: Symphony No. 2 in Bb, D. 125
KORNGOLD: Violin Concerto, Op. 35
STRAUSS: “Aus den Bergen“ Walzer
STRAUSS: Czardas from “Ritter Pasman“
STRAUSS: “Die Libelle“
STRAUSS: Kuss-Walzer

CORN 2111 - FTP upload: 06/01/21  Release date: 06/06/21
Concert Dates: 4/2/70 (“Daphnis and Chloe”); 4/30/05 (“The Firebird”)
Pierre Boulez, conductor
The Cleveland Orchestra Chorus

RAVEL: Daphnis and Chloe (complete)
STRAVINSKY: The Firebird (complete)

CORN 2112 - FTP upload: 06/08/21  Release date: 06/13/21
Concert Date: 10/25/2013
Franz Welser-Möst, conductor

BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 4 in Bb, Op. 60
SHOSTAKOVICH: Symphony No. 8 in c, Op. 65

CORN 2113 - FTP upload: 06/15/21  Release date: 06/20/21
Concert Date: 2/2/2013 - ADRIENNE ARSHT CENTER, MIAMI
Franz Welser-Möst, conductor
Garrick Ohlsson, piano

BEETHOVEN: Piano Concerto No.4 in G, Op. 58
BERLIOZ: Symphonie fantastique, Op. 14