© 2024 Ideastream Public Media

1375 Euclid Avenue, Cleveland, Ohio 44115
(216) 916-6100 | (877) 399-3307

WKSU is a public media service licensed to Kent State University and operated by Ideastream Public Media.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Kohlberg Plays Shostakovich with BlueWater Chamber Orchestra

On Ovations on Wednesday, November 8, we're featuring an October performance from the BlueWater Chamber Orchestra. Artistic Director Daniel Meyer leads a performance music of Bach arranged by Mahler and Stravinsky. Then, pianist Yaron Kohlberg takes center stage for a performance of the Piano Concerto No. 1 of Dmitri Shostakovich.

Daniel Meyer, conductor
Yaron Kohlberg, piano
Austin Cruz, trumpet

Johann Sebastian Bach (arr. Mahler): Suite from Orchestral Works
Igor Stravinsky: Danses Concertantes
Dmitri Shostakovich: Piano Concerto No. 1