2016 Anisfield-Wolf Book Award Winners; Ernest Hemingway; Quilter and Pinhole Photography

The 2016 Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards, moderated by Poet Rita Dove, were held earlier this month at the Ohio Theater in Playhouse Square. The awards honor writers who bring attention to issues of race and diversity. This year’s winners included Lillian Faderman, for The Gay Revolution: The Story of the Struggle, Mary Morris for her novel The Jazz Palace, Rowan Ricardo Phillips for his book of poetry, Heaven, Brian Seibert, What the Eye Hears: A History of Tap Dance, and lifetime achievement winner Orlando Patterson. We bring you some of the highlights from this year's event.

Meet artist Carole Harris, whose story of the architecture of the city of Detroit is held together by a needle and thread.

Pinhole photography is a method of taking a picture that dates back to fifth century B.C. Photographer Nancy Raven has found a way to use everyday household items to bring this ancient art form back to life.

Artists find inspiration in many places. In the exhibit, Ernest Hemingway: Between Two Wars, we dig into the acclaimed author’s past through some of his first drafts and early works.

Support Provided By

More Wcpn Schedule
More Wclv Schedule
90.3 WCPN
WCLV Classical 104.9
NPR Hourly Newscast
The Latest News and Headlines from NPR
This text will be replaced with a player.
This text will be replaced with a player.
This text will be replaced with a player.