© 2024 Ideastream Public Media

1375 Euclid Avenue, Cleveland, Ohio 44115
(216) 916-6100 | (877) 399-3307

WKSU is a public media service licensed to Kent State University and operated by Ideastream Public Media.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
On-demand interviews with local and national classical music artists.

The Cleveland Orchestra presents Tchaikovsky's 4th Symphony

Stéphane Denève leads The Cleveland Orchestra at Blossom Music Center this weekend for one night only. He visited the studios of WCLV to talk about the program with host Mark Satola.

Tchaikovsky's Fourth Symphony
Saturday, July 25 at 8:00 p.m.
Blossom Music Center

The Cleveland Orchestra
Stéphane Denève, conductor
Paul Lewis, piano

He wore his heart on his sleeve.  Tchaikovsky’s life was filled with inner turmoil, and this whirlwind of emotions is captured perfectly in his Fourth Symphony.  Impassioned and red-blooded, sentimental and wryly humorous, Tchaikovsky's music perfectly expresses the raw emotions that life brings us — and the sense of exhilarating triumph that can drive us forward.

At a Glance
STRAVINSKY - Concerto in E-flat major (“Dumbarton Oaks”)
SCHUMANN - Piano Concerto
TCHAIKOVSKY - Symphony No. 4