Mar. 28, 2015   19°F   School Closings
Listen Live Lo / Hi / More
Mission 4
Values 1
Values 2
Values 3
Vision 3
Vision 4
Vision 5
Values 4
Values 5
Values 6
Vision 1
Vision 2

Choose a station:

90.3 WCPN
WCLV 104.9

Choose a station:

90.3 WCPN
WCLV 104.9
WCLV 104.9 ideastream

Composer Ryan Wigglesworth

Saturday, March 8, 2014

Share on Facebook Share Share on Twitter Tweet

Mr. Wigglesworth is The Cleveland Orchestra's Lewis Young Composer Fellow, and he's in town for the North American premiere of his piece "Locke's Theatre."

Wigglesworth on Locke’s Theatre:

Locke’s Theatre, an orchestral work in three short movements, takes as its departure point incidental music written for Shakespeare’s “The Tempest” by the 17-century English composer Matthew Locke. Aspects of Locke’s idiosyncratic and daringly advanced harmonic and rhythmic language were to be adopted (some might say perfected) by his younger friend and protégé Henry Purcell. But it is the very rawness and directness of Locke’s theatre music that I wished to acknowledge and emulate. In each of my work’s three movements – entitled respectively ‘The First Music’, ‘Rustic Tune & Martial Jig’, and ‘Curtain Music’ – the baroque originals, though very often submerged, remain a constant, shadowy presence.”

Tune in for the entire concert, live, by The Cleveland Orchestra and music director Franz Welser-Möst tonight at 8:00PM on WCLV 104.9.

Franz Welser-Möst, conductor
Rudolf Buchbinder, piano
Kate Royal, soprano; Jamie Barton, mezzo-soprano
John Tessier, tenor; Cleveland Orchestra Chorus
Cleveland Orchestra Children’s Chorus
SIBELIUS: Lemminkäinen’s Return
RACHMANINOFF: Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini
WIGGLESWORTH: Locke’s Theatre
BRITTEN: Spring Symphony


Additional Information

Leave a Comment

Please follow our community discussion rules when composing your comments.