Two Ohio Universities Receive Grants to Promote Diversity in STEM Fields



Wright State University and the University of Dayton are among 20 U.S. colleges and universities singled out for their commitment to diversity in STEM education by the American Association of Colleges and Universities.

Each will receive a $300,000 grant for curriculum and faculty development, with a goal of developing “models for broader institutional change for the advancement of evidence-based and culturally competent teaching in STEM fields (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics),” according to the association’s press release.

The work is aimed at increasing women and minority representation in those fields, with a focus primarily on computer and information science.

$4.9 million in grants will be divided between 14 institutions, including Wright State and the University of Dayton, as part of an AAC&U initiative called TIDES—Teaching to Increase Diversity and Equity in STEM.

Five other institutions, including Ohio Northern University, earned honorable mentions by the AAC&U, and another was designated as noteworthy.  None of those six will receive funding, however.

The TIDES initiative is funded by the Leona M. and Harry B. Helmsley Charitable Trust.




Support Provided By